Planning Commission

The function of the Planning Commission is to undertake a continuing planning program for the physical, social and economic growth, development and redevelopment of Lancaster County. The Commission may make, publish, and distribute maps, plans and reports and make recommendations relating to the plans and programs and the development of the county and its municipalities to public officials and agencies, public utility companies, civic, educational, professional, and other organizations and citizens. It is the function and duty of the Commission to review and revise local land use ordinances, and makes decisions regarding rezonings, conditional use requests, and major subdivision applications. The Commission is currently undertaking revision of the Unified Development Ordinance and the Comprehensive Plan for the County.

Authority: Ordinance adopted by the Lancaster County Council on 8/1/05 (#684).

Governing Body: The Commission is composed of 7 members appointed by the Lancaster County Council, which represent the 7 County Council districts. Residency in the district for which the member is appointed is required. All members must be sworn in prior to participating in a meeting. Appointed members must comply with S.C. Code relating to orientation training (6 hours) and continuing education (3 hours each year).

Term of Office: 4-year staggered terms. Members may serve 2 consecutive terms, but will thereafter be ineligible for appointment for a period of two years after the expiration of any second four-year term.

Staff Liaison: Allison Hardin, Development Services Director;  April Williams, Planning Director; Matthew Blaszyk, Planner;  Jennifer Bryan, Planning Technician; Aimee Sholar, Administrative Assistant.

Address: P. O. Box 1809, Lancaster 29721  (803) 285-6005

Meetings: The regular monthly meeting is the third (3rd) Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m., Lancaster County Council Chambers, 2nd floor, 101 N. Main St. and at other times at the call of the Chair.  The Commission also holds a workshop on the first Thursday of each month at 5:00 p.m. at the same location as the regular monthly meeting.

 Lancaster County Planning Commission meetings are livestreamed (and archived) at  Lancaster County's YouTube page.

 Alan Patterson District 1 6/30/2025
 Yokima Cureton District 2 6/30/2027
 Charles Keith Deese, Chair District 3 6/30/2025
 Judianna Tinklenberg District 4 6/30/2027
 James Barnett, Vice-Chair District 5 6/30/2025
 Sheila Hinson District 6 6/30/2027
  District 7 6/30/2025
Planning Director: April Williams     
 Development Services Director:  Allison Hardin