Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

The Lancaster County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) is a voluntary committee formed to meet the requirements of the Federal Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), also known as the Superfund Amendments and Re-authorization Act (SARA, Title III), for emergency response planning.  The LEPC is charged with planning for response to incidents in the county that involve hazardous materials.  LEPC functions include coordinating between industry representatives and emergency response personnel, maintaining all Tier II chemical reporting information for the county, authoring and updating the County Hazardous Materials Response Plan, and increasing public awareness of hazardous materials risks and emergency planning.  Our LEPC membership includes elected state and local officials, County Government officials, personnel from emergency response agencies (police, fire, and EMS), medical facility representatives, community groups, and private industry owners and operators.

Current Committee Officers

Current Terms of office for all are 2019-2021
Chairman Chief Justin McLellan Lancaster Fire Department
Vice Chairman Jeff Catoe Lancaster County Public Works 
Secretary Anne Marshall MUSC-Lancaster

2019 Meeting Schedule

Held quarterly on the second Tuesday of February, May, August, and November
  • Tuesday, February 5th
  • Tuesday, May 7th
  • Tuesday, August 6th
  • Tuesday, November 5th

Quick Links