Indian Land Fire District Commission

The purpose of the Commission is to operate the District. At each meeting of the Commission, the treasurer shall report to the Commission on the revenues and expenditures of the District for the then current fiscal year. Each year, the Commission shall establish a budget for the District in the same manner as other County boards and commissions establish budgets. The Commission shall make recommendations to the County Council for appropriations to the District and other District funding matters. Requests for approval to expend District funds shall be submitted to Commission. The Commission shall review the request and make its recommendation on the request to the County Council.

Authority: Act 564 of 1978, Codified as Section 4-9-35 et seq., South Carolina Code of Laws of 1976. Ordinance #1083 was adopted by the Lancaster County Council on February 1, 2011.

Governing Body: The Indian Land Fire Protection District consists of five members. Four of the five members shall be appointed by Council and these four members must reside within the District. The Fire Chief for Indian Land Fire Department or the designee of the Indian Land Fire Department, shall serve as ex-officio and as a full voting member.

Terms of Office:  4-year staggered terms. Members may serve 2 consecutive terms, but will thereafter be ineligible for appointment for a period of two years.

Meeting Schedule:3rd Wednesday of every month at 7:00 p.m., Indian Land Fire Station

Board Members: Term Expiration

Scott McMullen June 30, 2025
Eileen White June 30, 2023
Mark Scheiring June 30, 2023
William Parker, Jr., Chairman  June 30, 2025
Chris Miller
Captain, Indian Land Fire Department 


Click here to view