Recreation Advisory Board

The purpose and objective of the Recreation Advisory Board shall be as follows:

  • To make recommendations to the County Council for the parks and recreational needs of the county and the implementation of plans established by Council;
  • To promote parks and recreation activities within the entire county;
  • In conjunction with the Director of Parks and Recreation, to oversee the expenditure of monies appropriated by the County Council for parks and recreation purposes.

Ordinance adopted by the Lancaster County Council on 7/25/1994 (#243). Ordinance amended by the Lancaster County Council on 7/31/2000 (#385). Ordinance amended by the Lancaster County Council on 6/4/2007 (#828). Ordinance amended by the Lancaster County Council on 8/13/2028 (#1518).

Governing Body
Recreation Advisory Board shall be composed of seven (7) members, all of whom shall be Lancaster County residents. Each Council member shall have one (1) appointment. It shall be necessary that the appointee reside in the district of the council member making the appointment.

Term of Office
The term of office for all Board members is four (4) years, commencing on July 1 and ending on June 30. A person who has served two (2) consecutive terms on the Board is ineligible for an additional appointment without there being a one-year period prior to an additional appointment. Time served in filling a vacancy shall not be included in the term limitation. Members do not continue to serve until their successor is appointed. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment.

Staff Liaison
Teresa Willis, Administrative Assistant
PO Box 243, Lancaster, SC 29721
(803) 289-6090

Meeting Location
Parks and Recreation Administrative Office
1228 Colonial Commons Ct., Lancaster SC 29720
Suite 204

Meeting Schedule
Meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. unless otherwise stated. Special meetings are held at the call of the Board Chairman and/or the Parks and Recreation Director.

Members and Contact Information
District 1 – Christopher Amodeo (
District 2 – Joe McGriff (
District 3 – Brent Stogner (
District 4 – M. David Aspesi (
District 5 – Quinton Rodgers (
District 6 – Jonathan Faulkenberry (
District 7 – Mike Fulkerson (

To view the board’s agendas and minutes, click here.