Construction Board of Appeals

The Construction Board of Appeals hears appeals of decisions and interpretations of the building official and consider variances of the technical codes.

Authority: Established by the Lancaster County Council by Ordinance #297 adopted 8/19/97 in accordance with the Standard Building Code as required by the Standard Abatement Code.

Governing Body: The Construction Board of Appeals is composed of 7 members representing the 7 County Council Districts. Residency in the council member’s district is not required. Board members are composed of individuals with knowledge and experience in the technical codes, such as design professionals, contractors or building industry representatives. In addition, two alternate members are appointed by the Lancaster County Council – one member-at-large from the building industry and one member-at-large from the public.

Term of Office: 4-year terms. Members may serve 2 consecutive terms, but will thereafter be ineligible for appointment for a period of two years.

Staff Liaison: Darin Robinson, P. O. Box 1809, Lancaster 29721, 803-285-1969

Meetings: At the call of the Chair when an appeal is filed.

Brent Funderburk Alternate 6/30/2023
Chad Catledge Alternate 6/30/2023
Bill Sherritt District 1 6/30/2021
David Cox District 2 6/30/2027
Jerry Carnes District 3 6/30/2023
Gary Aminoff District 4 6/30/2027
John M. Snipes District 5 6/30/2021
Tim Catoe District 6 6/30/2023
Kenneth Faulkner District 7 6/30/2021
Darin Robinson Building Official